The Dreaded Oatmeal…

If you’ve been following along for a while, you may remember me mentioning (click here for post) that D-boy does NOT like oatmeal (or goatmelk as he pronounces it) so I decided to see what other oatmeal options I could come up with.  I’m happy to say we have a winner!

I’d like to thank Susan V from the Fat Free Vegan Kitchen website for the inspiration for this recipe.  The recipe I use is below, but it is adapted from hers.  The link to her site/recipe is here.  I tried the original and everyone liked it, but I wanted something more like a crisp than bars, so here it is:

2 cups frozen blueberries
1/4 cup agave nectar
1/4 cup apple juice or grape juice or whatever fruit juice I have on hand (I like grape personally)
2 tablespoons cornstarch mixed with enough water or juice to form a smooth paste (about 1/2 a cup)

4 cups oatmeal* (regular, not instant)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar (raw cane sugar, turbinado, demerara) or whatever healthy sugar you use)

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 375F. Oil a 9×13-inch baking dish. Bring the blueberries, juice, and agave to a boil, then add corn starch and cold water mixture.  Stir till it thickens, set aside.  Add the dry ingredients to a mixing bowl, mix well.  (Note that I do note blend any of the oats to make flour).  Add the water, applesauce, and vanilla, mix till everything is slightly damp/ evenly wet.  Put some of the oat mixture in the bottom of the greased pan until the bottom is evenly covered (a third to half  of the whole mixture).  Pour the blueberry mixture into the pan, on top of the oats.  Pour/spread remaining oats on top and spread it out evenly.  Put in oven for 30 minutes at 375F.  (There are eight of us and we usually only have a tiny bit left over each meal, so you may want to half it or plan on it lasting two meals if you’re a smaller family than we are.)

So everyone is happy that I have started doing this instead of regular oatmeal.  The rest would eat regular oatmeal but it wasn’t their favorite.  I serve this dish with “French toast sticks” – the kind you buy frozen at Sam’s Club (so much for a totally healthy breakfast, huh?).  Of course they all have their green smoothies as well as a fresh fruit, so I think we’re balancing things out pretty well.  And the most thankful (and I am thankful that he is actually thankful) is, of course, D-boy.  He was just telling me the other day that he likes the “blueberry stuff and waffles” the best of all our breakfasts.

So now I’m looking for some healthy, easy to make, biscuits and gravy recipes.  More interested in a good gravy recipe, but I’d take both.  Any other breakfast ideas?  I have about two more meals that I’d like to add to the breakfast rotation so these kids don’t feel like we’re always eating the same thing.  Anyway, I’d love for you to share, and I hope that you can all enjoy this blueberry/oatmeal recipe if it sounds interesting to you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life with Kids

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Dreaded Oatmeal…”


  1. The above entry is mentioned in this future post as well (click on this comment’s title to view).
    [...] out a couple of my previous posts for some of our recipes.  For one of our breakfast meals we do a blueberry crisp type dish.  I also like to use the apple spice cake that we made for F-girl’s birthday as one of [...]


  2. [...] I mentioned that we eat a lot of food around here? Yes, I think I have. It started out with the oatmeal ordeal. Oh my, am I glad we solved that [...]


Go ahead...leave a comment! It will show up as soon as Instant Mama approves it.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

